My 3 positive core beliefs about the world


I don’t know how stable (They could change over time, or be different in different circumstances) the 5 core beliefs that I describe and argue in this post and my previous post are, however I feel like they are important (some a bit more than others) to me. Also the list of arguments for these beliefs (and of course against them as well, though I haven’t really shown you arguments against these beliefs) is of course a lot larger than I’ll provide in either of these posts. However I hope that these two posts give you some insight into who I am, at least politically/philosophically, and reveal some of the biases that this blog probably has.

1) I belief that equality is important, both in the economical sense as in the equal rights sense.

I don’t think we should have 100% economic  equality, but my objections to a communist system are practical instead of ideological. If there would be no side effects, such as (but not limited to) lower economic growth, a lot of problems for people who want to start their own thing or want to invest in their business, I would be some sort of communist. However I still think economic equality is important for several reasons:

  1. a) If you imagine an “barter economy”, where the only way you can get something is if you trade something you own for it. In that economy the price of everything would be determined by price negotiation, so also the wealth that people have is for an large part based on those negotiations. The same is still sort of true today. Today we have a lot of collective bargaining trough for example unions, and prices in stores are generally set by the store, but the process of changing those prices is a sort of bargaining, since the stores take into account the buying behavior and attitudes of the customers. So the prices of our products, and the amount of wealth we get assigned is still for a large part determined, by an although very complex system of negotiation. However I don’t think that just because a person or a certain group of people, has less bargaining power/capability doesn’t mean that they actually deserve less material goods, or that people that have more bargaining power deserve more.
  2. b) An other reason why I think equality is important is because it gives a certain kind of freedom to a lot of people. In a very unequal society the amount of things you can do for an carreer is less than in an more equal society, because in an more equal society a larger percentage of the jobs out there, or the jobs you could create yourself, are jobs that you will actually use to sustain yourself. Further more it gives more options to the people in low paying jobs, in the unequal society people might be forced to choose for example between being able to have and sustain children, or go for the job of their dreams that doesn’t pay well (or at least doesn’t pay well at first). I do think there is such an thing as economic freedom, however I don’t think it will always decrease if you raise taxes or increase with more market regulation, like many right wing people argue. I think it is about people being able to do the things they want, and making as many careers as possible economically possible.

About equal rights I’ve thought less than about economic equality, so I will not argue about it here.

2) That life and what happens to that life is the only thing that  is important for morality.

First off what things beside life are there that could be important? Well you have justice. Justice is a thing that is important beyond people liking to live in a just society, since it makes productive live possible. However the reason that it is important is still that it makes (human) life better.

3)That the social world can be changed by important actors within it

With social world I mean how we behave on average both in groups and on our own, and the concepts of culture and society. I think the social world can be changed because there are many things that influence our behavior and culture, the media, our education etc. And although it is impossible for a government (or other actor) to directly influence a large part of the social world, they do have some degree of control over for example our education, so it would be possible but in certain cases unethical to have a directed change in the social world.

 

 

Some links:

1) about equality:

first John Olivers episode about the topic

The Spirit Level: Why More Equal Societies Almost Always Do Better

Another strong argument for more equality comes from demand side economics, however I haven’t found/refound an good video or article about it. The basic idea is that large amounts of people spend more (and spend more reliably, with less changes and crashes) than a small amount of people, so you have higher demand and a more healthy economy with less money that is very concentrated among a small amount of people. (however I’m skipping almost all of the details in this explanation Google it and perhaps you have better luck finding an good explanation somewhere)

learn liberty made a lot of videos I kind of enjoy that take the other side of the economic equality debate (and the same side in the social equality debate), it sometimes felt a bit like propaganda to me, however this blog post will probably feel like propaganda for someone on the right side of the economic equality debate.

2) 3) For these 2 beliefs I didn’t really look for sources beyond the knowledge I already had:

However the 3rd belief is an example of an idealistic believe, if you want to know more about idealism and realism you can check out my blog post about that

 

Leave a Reply

